City of Fort Smith 2020 Census Local Complete Count Committee

Contact: Jurena L. Storm
Tel.: (479) 784-2344 Cell: (479) 221-7831
The purpose of the Local Complete Count Committee is to bring awareness of the 2020 Census and its impact to the City of Fort Smith and River Valley region by providing educational opportunities through outreach.  We strive to archive this through in-person town-hall meetings, public events, multi-media campaigns and area canvassing in our mobile kiosk. The vehicle will be used to distribute informational material before April 1st and we foresee it being used as a mobile Census Access Point allowing convenient access points for our residents to complete the census.  We are currently identifying and evaluating strategic touring routes for the vehicle.
The second meeting of the City of Fort Smith Complete Count Committee will be held Thursday, November 21, 2019, 3PM at the Creekmore Park Community Center, Magnolia Room.  During this meeting the committee will continue to discuss strategy for outreach and awareness, including ways to recruit residents to apply with the Census Bureau for part-time, flexible job opportunities that pay $17.00 per hour.
Local Complete Count Committee Members
Jennifer Goodson, Executive Director, Fort Smith Public Library
Zena Featherston-Marshall, Executive Director, Communication & Community Partnerships, Fort Smith Public School District.  
Alex Sanchez – AVP, Community Development Senior Representative, Arvest Bank
Talicia Richardson, Social Action Chair of the Fort Smith Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc
Chris Joannides, Executive Director, Riverview Hope Campus. 
Sam Price, Resident and Community Advocate.
Deanna S. Rice, Executive Director, SRCA, Fort Smith Senior Activity Centers.
Eddie Lee Herndon, President and CEO, United Way of Fort Smith.
Pastor Paul Davis, Senior Pastor, St. James Missionary Baptist Church.
Lorie Robertson, Director of Marketing, Fort Chaffee Redevelopment Authority/Chaffee Crossing.
Janice Scaggs, Field Representative, Congressman Steve Womack Office.
Chris Chaney, Entrepreneur, Small Business Owner, Valley Cuts Barber and Spa. 
Rham Cunningham, Things to Do in Fort Smith.
Patrick Weeks, President and CEO, United States Marshals Museum.
Taylor Wewers, University of Arkansas, Fort Smith Student Leader. 
Jarred Rego, Founder, Fort Smith Forward.
Thao Le, Vietnamese Community Association of Fort Smith. 
Debra Young, Future Fort Smith, Board Member. 
Jennifer Burchett, Resident, Fort Smith. 
Pastor Julio Gomez, Joy of My Soul Baptist Church, Radio Vida 102.3 FM
Heather Edwards, Executive Director, Literacy Council of Western Arkansas.
Patti Kimbrough, Executive Director, Good Samaritan Clinic.
Heather Dean-Sanders, Executive Director, Community Rescue Mission, Inc. 
Wansley Harrison, LCSW River Valley Primary Care Services
Judge David Hudson, Sebastian County Judge
Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce   – Partnering organization that will provide assistance with social media, materials distribution and access to their membership database for outreach and education.

City of Fort Smith Local Complete Count Committee ----Community leaders from Fort Smith and the River Valley met for the first time in Fort Smith on Oct. 30 to receive outreach training from the Census
Bureau and discuss strategy on how to bring awareness to community members.  Pictured are (left to right seated) Heather Dean-Sanders, Jennifer Burchett, Zena Featherston-Marshall, Debra Young, Talicia Richardson,
Wansley Harrison, Taylor Wewers, Jennifer Goodson, Deanna S. Rice, Kim Le. (left to right standing) Allen Green, US Census Bureau, Alex Sanchez, Judge David Hudson, Eddie Lee Herndon, Patrick Weeks, Heather Edwards,
Janice Scaggs, Dave Stevens, Jarred Rego, Pastor Paul Davis, Chris Chaney, Chris Joannides, Brandon Sherman, US Census Bureau.