Fort Smith Chamber Announces the Jack White Community Leadership Award Recipient

For Immediate Release
Contact Tim Allen, 479-783-3111
Fort Smith Chamber Announces the Jack White Community
Leadership Award Recipient
Fort Smith, AR. (July 8, 2022) – The Jack White Award was created as a tribute to the contributions Jack White made to our community and to acknowledge the remarkable impact of the current leaders in the Fort Smith region. For more than 30 years, the Leadership Fort Smith program has honored community leaders who have gone above and beyond to impact our region in a positive way.

This year the recipient is Bill Hanna. We will recognize Mr. Hanna and present the award at the Leadership Fort Smith Commencement and New Class Reception event on July 14, 2022, at Wyndham Fort Smith.

About the Award:  Jack White, a former employee of OG&E for 35 years, a Naval veteran, family man, and lifelong learner was highly regarded for his service, leadership, reputation, and collaboration to make Fort Smith a better place.  Unfortunately, our community had a void with Jack White passing in 1997, at the age of 57, which is filled by the work of other leaders that carry his spirit of servant leadership, hard work, and determination in pushing for progress to get things done to make our region a better place to live.

Bill Hanna is the President & CEO of Hanna Oil and Gas Company, which is a third-generation, family-owned business. He joined the company in 1983 and has worked in a variety of capacities. Bill has been instrumental in numerous projects including bike and walking trails, skate park and beautification projects throughout the community. Bill has served on the Fort Smith Boys & Girls Club Board of Directors for the past 12 years and served as President in 2018 and 2019. During his presidency, the club conducted a campaign that raised $2.6 Million to renovate Hunts Park, a multi-use sports complex. No matter the project, Bill makes a personal commitment to be certain that the outcomes are successful. One of his most impactful accomplishments was the transformation of an old and discarded building (the former Shipley Baking Company). This new renovated space has provided our city with a modern multi-use space that younger generations gravitate to.

The Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce and Leadership Fort Smith Program Sponsors, including Annual Presenting Sponsor Cox Business, look forward to the formal award presentation and recognition of the LFS Class of 2022 on Thursday, July 14, 2022. At that event, the LFS Class of 2023 participants will be announced. The Annual Presenting Sponsor for the LFS Class of 2023 is Ritter Communications.

We are pleased to celebrate the graduation of the Leadership Fort Smith Class of 2022:

Tristin Bolton – U of A System Division of Agriculture
Marcus Booker - AR Air National Guard
Davin Chitwood- Kirkham.IT
Lindsay Conley – River Town Federal Credit Union
Chris Davis- Fort Smith Public Schools
Nate Deason- MAHG Architecture, Inc.
Erin Farrah- Ronald McDonald House Charities of Arkoma
Shea Foldvary- United Way of Fort Smith Area
Ashley Gerhardson- Arkansas Colleges of Health Education
Ashley Goodson- University of Arkansas – Fort Smith
Jackson Goodwin- Mickle Wagner Coleman, Inc.
Zachary Gramlich – Fort Smith Public Schools
Shawn Hinkle – Fort Smith Public Schools
Katie Hug- ArcBest Technologies
Chance Locklear- Landmark PLC, CPA
Brogan Lopez – Riley Farm Dental
Lance McAvoy- City of Fort Smith
Michelle McCurry- Propak Logistics, Inc.
Omar Portillo- Firstar Bank
Sara Putman- Bookish
Curtis Ralston- Mercy Clinic Fort Smith
Tina Root- University of Arkansas- Fort Smith
Joshua Sykes- First National Bank of Fort Smith
Eddie Vansell- ABB

Bill Hanna